The Jacob’s Pillow Dance Award is an important way the Pillow supports the creativity of visionary artists.

The Award was created in 2007 by an anonymous donor whose commitment to an ongoing annual gift to Jacob’s Pillow of $50,000 is generous and far-reaching.

The Award, presented each year at the Season Opening Gala to an artist of exceptional vision, carries a cash prize of $25,000 which the artist can use in any way they wish. The honoree also receives a custom-designed glass sculpture by Berkshire-based artist Tom Patti, whose work is in the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art and the Museum of Modern Art in New York, among other prominent institutions worldwide.

The remaining $25,000 of the annual gift supports Jacob’s Pillow commissions, presentations, and the creation of new work through a Pillow Lab residency. During these residencies, artists are invited to spend one to three weeks at the Pillow creating or rehearsing new work, with free housing for the company, unlimited use of studio space, and access to the Pillow’s rare and extensive Archives and other Pillow resources. In the beautiful, retreat-like atmosphere of the Pillow, the Pillow Lab residencies are rare opportunities for artists to focus on the creative process without distraction.

For general artist inquiries, please complete this form. Questions? Email

Jacob’s Pillow Dance Award recipients

2024: Pam Tanowitz

2023: Misty Copeland

2022: Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui

2021: Dormeshia

2020: Ronald K. Brown

2019: Annabelle Lopez Ochoa

2018: Faye Driscoll

2017: Liz Lerman

2016: Camille A. Brown

2015: Liz Gerring, Liz Gerring Dance Company

2014: John Heginbotham, Dance Heginbotham

2013: Michelle Dorrance, Dorrance Dance

2012: Kyle Abraham, Abraham.In.Motion

2011: Crystal Pite, Kidd Pivot

2010: Bill T. Jones, Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company 

2009: Merce Cunningham, Merce Cunningham Dance Company

2008: Alonzo King, Alonzo King’s LINES Ballet

2007: Annie-B Parson and Paul Lazar, Big Dance Theater